

Dear President of the European Parliament,

Dear President of the European Council,

Dear President of the European Commission and

Dear President of the French Republic,

We all have a responsibility for the shared future of Europe. In this time of crisis, it is high time to re-evaluate some of the rules we have upheld till now and focus on the most important aspects of the European project, which will help us move forward.

An unprecedented health crisis is currently affecting millions of people in Europe and tragically taking thousands of lives. However, this is not the end. The economic crisis will crush the hopes and dreams of generations of Europeans. We sincerely hope that we will all do whatever is in our power not to leave anyone behind.

We firmly believe that the European Parliament needs to take on its responsibility and share the burden since it is the highest European directly elected body. We need to be part of the solution, not part of the problem. If we want the people to have confidence and trust in the European project, we need to show them that we are also ready to make concessions.

Therefore, we would like to ask you to do everything in your power to change the treaties in order to have just a single seat of the Parliament in Brussels. This call has again gained a large majority of support in the 2018 Parliament discharge resolution adopted on 13 May 2020 and shall now be taken into account and acted upon. The financial and environmental costs of moving the Parliament are, especially in these times of digitally connected Europe, extremely high and hard to justify. Each year, the cost of having multiple seats amounts to more than 114 million euros and is responsible for more than 67 % of the Parliament's carbon footprint.

The concept of multiple Parliamentary seats has become entirely obsolete. It is also quite probable that the COVID-19 will remain part of our lives throughout the following years. Therefore, the mere travels between seats will be prevented by health concerns.

Let us cut our costs now and use these valuable funds for the transition of our political process into the 21st century - and we are sure that there will still be plenty left to help the European citizens directly. Let us show that we are serious and that we are not just imposing costs and requirements on people while still taking trips to Strasbourg to honor old symbols.

Now more than ever, we need new symbols of European unity and solidarity. Approval of the single seat would be a strong symbol for Europeans, especially for the "newer Member States". It would show people that we are all Europeans and that Europe can adapt, improvise and overcome this new challenge.

We believe that our response to this crisis can make us stronger.

Kind regards, and we wish you and your families good health.

Mikuláš Peksa, Member of the European Parliament



Co-signatures from MEPs:

Marcel Kolaja Mohammed Chahim Margrete Auken

Markéta Gregorová Peter van Dalen Javier Nart

Patrick Breyer Mick Wallace Carles Puigdemont

Nico Semsrott Salvatore De Meo Rob Rooken

Ville Niinistö Sara Cerdas Predrag Fred Matic
Alexandr Vondra Clara Ponsatí Kira Peter-Hansen
Sylwia Spurek Niels Fuglsang Kateřina Konečná
Pascal Arimont Jadwiga Wiśniewska Erik Marquardt
Vera Tax Mazaly Aguilar Ruža Tomašić

Jutta Paulus Lídia Pereira Johan Van Overtveldt

Bert-Jan Ruissen Niklas Nienaß Eleonora Evi

Jakop Dalunde Ioannis Lagos Witold Waszczykowski

Milan Brglez Hilde Vautmans Beata Kempa

Miriam Dalli Geert Bourgeois Fredrick Federley

Marianne Vind Jeroen Lenaers Radosław Sikorski

Pär HolmgrenAlexis GeorgoulisVille NiinistöEugena JurzycuAnna DonathŁukasz Kohut

Ivan Stefanec Karin Karlsbro Michaela Šojdrová

Assita Kanko Morten Helveg Petersen Magdalena Adamowicz

Evžen Tošenovský Rob Roos István Ujhelyi David Lega

Martin Buschmann Abir Al-Sahlani

Paul Tang Alviina Alametsä

Ernest Urtasun Alice Kuhnke

Kati Piri Derk Jan Eppink

Henrike Hahn Antoni Comín

Irena Joveva Frédérique Ries
Miriam Lexmann Nikolaj Villumsen

Dorien Rookmaker Lucia Ďuriš Nicholsonová

Kim van Sparrentak Agnes Jongerius