Open letter to the President of the United States concerning a presidential pardon to Edward Snowden

Dear Mr. President,

we, undersigned Members of the European Parliament, support granting the presidential pardon for Edward Snowden.

In 2013, Edward Snowden disclosed highly classified information regarding the scope of U.S. government's surveillance capabilities and their potential threat to civil rights of Americans and people overseas. In order to avoid extradition, he has remained in Russia ever since.

This case has underscored the vital role whistle-blowers play in safeguarding fundamental rights and preserving our democratic principles. Our common goal of building an accountable and transparent society is violated every time we persecute those who put public interest far above their personal well-being and security.

Already in 2015, the European Parliament demanded protection of Edward Snowden and voted in favor of a call on EU Member States to "drop any criminal charges, grant him protection and consequently prevent extradition or rendition by third parties, in recognition of his status as whistle-blower and international human rights defender". The result of the vote confirmed the commitment of this House to pledge in favor of Snowden's case. This commitment has not changed.

Therefore, learning about your intention to re-investigate the case of Edward Snowden, we want to express the full support for granting him presidential pardon.

Respectfully,

MEP Marcel Kolaja, Vice-President of the European Parliament
MEP Heidi Hautala, Vice-President of the European Parliament
MEP Fabio Castaldo, Vice-President of the European Parliament
MEP Markéta Gregorová
MEP Mikuláš Peksa
MEP Patrick Breyer
MEP Karen Melchior
MEP Margrete Auken
MEP Milan Brglez

MEP Cornelia Ernst MEP Carles Puigdemont MEP Antoni Comín MEP Clara Ponsatí MEP Marie Toussaint MEP Brando Benifei MEP Dietmar Köster MEP Alexandra Geese MEP Niklas Nienass MEP Clare Daly MEP Mick Wallace MEP Guerreiro Francisco MEP Eleonora Evi MEP Łukasz Kohut MEP Tiziana Beghin MEP Rosa D'Amato MEP Mario Furore