Default Press release

The European Pirate Party has new leadership and observers

Brussels, 24/01/2022 – The members of the European Pirate Party have elected new leadership on their 9th Council Meeting. Party Chairperson, MEP Mikuláš Peksa, was able to defend his position. The Council has also accepted the Pirate Party of Serbia and the Two-Tailed Dog Party of Hungary among its observer members. The members also discussed the nomination of Julian Assange for the Nobel Peace Prize as well as the implementation of the whistleblower directive.

On 22 and 23 January, the 9th Council Meeting of the European Pirate Party took place. Due to the pandemic, the meeting was held online and was broadcasted on the Internet. At the end of this weekend rich in exchanges, the European Pirate Party is happy to welcome the Pirate Party of Serbia and the Two-Tailed Dog Party of Hungary (Magyar Kétfarkú Kutya Párt) among its observer members. The parties shall further promote the tradition of the Pirate movement in Europe.

Gergely Kovács, Chairperson of the Two-Tailed Dog Party comments the admission:

“The Hungarian Two-Tailed Party is happily joining the fleet of the European Pirates. As an observer, we would like to learn new methods of e-democracy. In the following years, the fight against corrupt repressive regimes needs new methods and new players on the European level too. The MKKP and the Pirates share many common values and will share many jokes, victories and beer in the future.”

Dalibor Marinovič, Chairperson of the Serbian Pirates adds:

“The new Pirate Party, named Пирати, will follow the example of the European Pirate Party. Пират is the one who fights for its ideas, for tomorrow, for the future, enjoys the discussion, seeks solutions. The party is being built from the bottom up and it is not a party of one face. The party is built on a civil initiative, led by people who are respected and have proven over the years that they are serious about investing their energy in fighting for the rights in the Digital Era.”

In addition, the Council unanimously adopted a motion in favour of the protection of whistleblowers, who expose breaches of European law. The Council also supported the nomination of Julian Assange for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Further, a new board was appointed: Mikuláš Peksa (PPCZ, PPDE) was re-elected as party Chair. Florie Marie (PPFR) and Alessandro Ciofini (PPSE, Pirati) were elected as Vice-Chairpersons. Sebastian Krone retains his position as treasurer. The board is also composed of Cedric Levieux (PPFR), Etienne Evellin (PPFR), Jan Mareš (PPCZ), Petr Kocourek (PPCZ) and Jasmin Feratović for Slovenian Pirate Party (PPSL) elected to the board.

MEP Mikuláš Peksa, Chairperson of the PPEU, explains:

“The board was mostly re-elected, representing continuity in our work with a couple of new people bringing new ideas. Our tasks will be to provide new tools and processes for better participation and stronger democracy within both Pirate movement and outside towards our voters.”

The Council and the Board thank all the volunteers who participated in the successful completion of this meeting.

0 comments on “The European Pirate Party has new leadership and observers

Leave a Reply